Skip to Content

Commission announces finalists of the European sustainable urban mobility awards

Today, the European Commission revealed the names of the cities and towns at the forefront of innovation in urban mobility. A total of six local authorities were nominated for European prizes that reward sustainable mobility excellence. The winners of the EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Award 2015 and of the award for sustainable urban mobility planning will be announced by Commissioner Violeta Bulc, responsible for Transport, and Commissioner Karmenu Vella, responsible for the Environment, at an award ceremony on 20 April in Brussels, Belgium.

The EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Award 2015 honours the local authorities who promote sustainable urban mobility exceptionally well and who successfully focus their efforts on a shift towards more sustainable means of transport. A city’s performance during EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK held in September is not all that counts; more long-term measures implemented by the applicant cities are also taken into consideration. 

This year the Commission received 53 applications from 19 countries. An independent panel of experts shortlisted 10 local authorities excelling in urban mobility. Three of these were nominated as finalists: Lisbon, Murcia and Palma de Mallorca were recognized to have performed exceptionally well in reflecting multimodality in line with last year’s theme ‘Choose. Change. Combine.’. The winner of the EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Award 2015 will receive a professional promotional video highlighting their outstanding achievements in sustainable urban mobility, and will be promoted as example of best practice along with the other finalists and shortlisted cites.

Shortlisted cities and finalists (in bold) for the EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Award 2015 award are:

  • Bacau (Romania)
  • Lárnaka (Cyprus)
  • Lisbon (Portugal)
  • Miskolc (Hungary)
  • Murcia (Spain)
  • Nottingham (UK)
  • Palma de Mallorca (Spain)
  • Sofia (Bulgaria)
  • Tríkala (Greece)
  • Vienna (Austria)

You can find more details on finalist and shortlisted cities below.

The award for sustainable urban mobility planning aims to promote the adoption of Sustainable Urban Mobility Plans (SUMPs) across Europe, and to distinguish the mobility planning champions in line with the annual award theme. This year's award focused on multimodality and intermodality in sustainable urban mobility planning, which refers to the combination of various transport modes within one trip or separate trips.

A jury of experts in the field of sustainable urban mobility planning, multimodality and intermodality recognised the remarkable accomplishments of the following cities and appointed them as finalists:

  • Malmö (Sweden)
  • Utrecht (Netherlands)
  • Vienna (Austria)

You can find below more details on the finalists for the award for sustainable urban mobility planning.

Last year’s winners of the EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Award and of the award for sustainable urban mobility planning were Östersund (Sweden) and Bremen (Germany). You can see the videos promoting their actions below.

Join the discussion with #mobilityweek

Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook!



EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK is supported by the Directorate-General for Mobility and Transport of the European Commission. The European Secretariat is managed by a consortium led by EUROCITIES and two other city networks (ICLEI and POLIS), a professional communication agency (ICF Mostra) and an international environmental organisation (Regional Environmental Centre).